TESDA bags Philippine Quality Award

TESDA bags Philippine Quality Award

The Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA)

recently awarded with the Recognition for Commitment to Quality Management

of the Philippine Quality Awards (PQA) now belongs to the roster of governmentoffices

and private organizations in the

Philippines recognized for their performance


The PQA Award Program is a public-private

partnership involving the President of the Republic

of the Philippines, DTI Secretary, PQA Steering

Committee, Management Committee, Development Academy

of the Philippines, Philippine Society for Quality Inc., Board of

Judges and Team of Assessors.   It involves rigorous process

of Independent Review, Initial Consensus Review, Site Visit Review and Final Judges Review.

“The hard work and efficiency of the men and women of TESDA and our partners in making TVET accessible and relevant, especially to the poor sectors of society are now bearing fruits with this PQA,” Isaac said.

“After receiving this coveted recognition, we are more emboldened to work harder to reinforce the culture of competence and quality in the workplace,” she added.

Patterned after the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award of the United States, the Philippine Quality Award program is the highest level of national recognition for exemplary organization performance in the Philippines.  PQA was established by Executive Order No. 448 of October 1997 and institutionalized through Republic Act. No 9013 on February 28, 2001 otherwise known as PQA Act. The PQA Criteria for the Public Sector provides and integrates, results-oriented framework in implementing and assessing the processes and results of public sector organizations.

The criteria for performance excellence consist of seven categories: Leadership, Strategic Planning; Customer and Citizen Focus; Measurement, Analysis and Knowledge Management; Human Resource Focus; Operations Focus and Results.

PQA awards four Levels of Recognition;: Level I Recognition for Commitment to Quality Management; Level II: Recognition for Proficiency in Quality Management; Level III Recognition for Mastery in Quality Management; Level IV The Philippine Quality Award for Performance Excellence.

As a seal of TESDA commitment to quality service and performance excellence, the Agency received the Nationwide ISO 9001:2008 Certification in an awarding ceremony held in Malacañang on April 13, 2015.  After receiving this award, TESDA targeted the recognition under PQA Program.

The PQA was established as a specific strategy to promote quality excellence in private and government organizations and to provide internationally comparable framework and criteria for assessing organizational performance and recognizing quality excellence.  It also promotes sharing of information and benchmarking of best practices and results among organizations pursuing quality improvement.

Make an appointment

SMART: 0947-8973-348
GLOBE: 0917-7079-324

Regional Director: TONI JUNE A. TAMAYO

Address: Diosdado Macapagal Government Center, Maimpis, City of San Fernando, Pampanga Philippines

Copyright © 2012. Official Website of Technical Education and Skills Development - Central Luzon Office. All rights reserved.

Official Website of Technical Education and Skills Development